From Negative to Positive

When we think of negative thoughts, there’s generally an onslaught of them at once. It’s as if you have one and it multiplies exponentially within seconds, calling on all of its negative thought friends to come out and join in a dooming party. So, why doesn’t the same phenomenon occur with positive thoughts?

I (positively) think the answer is practice. As we grow up and start letting negative thoughts enter our mind, we tend to focus on them. They begin to come naturally. Positive thoughts, on the other hand, have to be proactively thought about. Even though positive thoughts were so ubiquitous when we were young, we slowly lose the ability to focus on all the good things as we grow old.

For myself, I will try to make the positive thoughts a habit, so when I do think of something happy, I’m filled with a domino effect of like-minded thoughts. This will evict negative thoughts from my mind. Maybe two negatives will make a positive, in places outside of math class.

2 thoughts on “From Negative to Positive

  1. “For myself, I will try to make the positive thoughts a habit, so when I do think of something happy, I’m filled with a domino effect of like-minded thoughts.”

    I love this. Well done!

Leave a comment