Herstory

my rhymes are limitless

my words are intimate

like a dark theatre

my sound is surround

my verbs hit the ground running

in my lines they bring life

poetry is unbounded

parallel universe

visions collide

i construct stories that climax

with no end

they’re sleepless in my mind

from Seattle to Selma

my imagination dives deep to peruse

the sights of different voices

trying to be heard

we want to uncage the bird

leave behind the birds and (burdens)

soar with our wings

open sealed caskets

and restore the lives within

bury our hatchets

it will be a win-win

we mustn’t forget then

that King dismissed swords

to fight with words and a pen

Leave a Reply

