Sleepless in Toronto

IMG_4194Have you ever seen a cloud cascade over a rooftop in the freezing cold moments of the morning? It tosses and turns, quickly forming entirely new shapes like thoughts in a fleetingly busy mind. As it whisks over the edifice, it’s thin, quick, and decisive in its movements.

The scene is beautiful- the sun rises after 7AM over a very chilly Lake Ontario. Clouds hang low and dark in the sky with orange drops peeking through to say good morning. Like me, the city doesn’t sleep either as cars peacefully move along the highway and lights stay on across multiple rooms in high rises throughout the space.

It’s been one hell of a year. I’ve traveled to more international countries than I have ever been in my entire life and have experienced people, food, places, obstacles, successes, and a multitude of personal growth. I’ve made a lot of new friends, some of whom I strongly know will be lifelong. I’ve lost fewer friends, which is always a good way to go.

Whenever we make it to the end of a year, everyone picks a resolution. Quite frankly, I believe we can improve upon ourselves with each day, so I stray from picking things in the beginning of a year simply because the date. Rather, I really am taking this time today to reflect on the last 365 days of my life- the good, the bad, and the ugly while I bring in the new year visiting an amazing friend in Toronto whom I met on my Euro trip. 

For everyone, I wish a year filled of health, happiness, love and success. I hope for improvements within the world and a better environment as we seem to be transgressing. And personally, I hope to travel more, as always.

Cheers to 2015!

Leave a Reply

